sdwg.cap.gov
Main Content

SDWG Holds Distributed SAREX

November 3, 2022

News Item Image

South Dakota Wing holds a distributed SAREX tomorrow, Nov. 5. The event will feature squadrons training in their home locations, based on locally-determined operational training priorities.

“CAP’s moto Semper Vigilans means ‘always vigilant,’” said Col. Michael Marek, South Dakota Wing commander, who will be incident commander for the mission. “That means being ready to provide effective support to local, state, tribal, and federal agencies on short notice. In turn, that means regular training – at both a basic level for newer members and advanced proficiency training. That’s what this weekend is all about.”

Although training will be performed at decentralized locations around the wing, overall mission management will be handled by South Dakota Wing’s Virtual Command Post. The incident commander, air and ground branch officers, and other mission management personnel will use an all-day Teams meeting to assign, brief and track sorties, and practice other mission management procedures.

The opening briefing will be this evening (Nov 5) at 8 pm CT, 7 pm MT. Virtual Command Post will be manned Saturday morning by 7:30 am CT, 6:30 am MT.

Members can join the Virtual Command Post by connecting to the “SAREX General” team in the wing’s Microsoft Teams platform.

« Back

© 2022 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.